The Local Action Group “Prigorje-Zagorje” (LAG PRIZAG) was established on December 29th of the year 2009 in the Municipality of Gornja Rijeka by the members of the public, economic and civil sectors, while during January 7th 2010, the group was registered in the Register of Associations of the Republic of Croatia.

LAG PRIZAG covers an area of ​​510 km2 which has a population of 35.000 inhabitants. It comprises 11 local self-government units from 3 counties: Koprivnica-Križevci, Varaždin and Krapina-Zagorje counties. From the area of ​​Koprivnica-Križevci County, LAG PRIZAG consists of three local self-government units, namely: the Municipality of Gornja Rijeka, the Municipality of Kalnik and the Municipality of Sveti Petar Orehovec.

The strategic objectives of LAG PRIZAG are:

  • increasing the competitiveness of agriculture and forestry;
  • improving the quality of life in rural areas and developing tourism infrastructure.